top of page

Social Justice & Advocacy Committee


The Social Justice & Advocacy Committee is responsible for providing organizational leadership related to issues of social justice as it pertains to sexuality and sexual wellness. This committee is responsible for providing leadership in ACSSW related to advocating for issues of sexuality both within the counseling profession and the wider communities.


The Social Justice & Advocacy Committee:

  • Shall monitor current and upcoming social justice issues related to concerns of discrimination based on sexuality.

  • Shall initiate action providing support for sexually minoritized groups who experience discrimination.

Social Justice & Advocacy Committee Co-Chairs:



Dr. Debra Perez (she/her) has been a professional counselor focusing on trauma treatment for over 19 years serving rural NM. She currently lives in Montana and provides therapy via telebehavioral health. Dr. Perez is an Assistant Professor at Liberty University Online. In addition to being a counselor and a professor, she is also an author, contributing chapters to multiple books as well as coauthoring and coediting a book for counselors on telebehavioral health.

Jeff Strozier, PhD, LCPC (he/him/they/them) is Interim Department Chair and Director of Clinical Training for the Counselor Education Department at The Chicago School of Professional Psychology (TCSPP) in Chicago, Illinois. Dr. Strozier earned a Ph.D. in Counselor Education and Supervision from The University of New Orleans and MA in Clinical Professional Psychology from Roosevelt University. Dr. Strozier has over fifteen years of experience within the counseling profession. Prior to joining TCSPP he was Director of the Anti-Violence Project at Center on Halsted, the largest LGBTQ community center in the Midwest. Dr. Strozier also provided community-based counseling services and, as part of his doctoral training, he provided individual and group counseling to clients with substance use disorder within an intensive outpatient setting.

bottom of page